South African Defence News

The South African National Defence Force (SANDF) is the military organization responsible for the defense of South Africa. It was established in 1994 following the end of apartheid and the formation of a democratic government. The SANDF replaced the previous separate military forces, namely the South African Defence Force (SADF), the Bantustan defense forces, and Umkhonto we Sizwe (the armed wing of the African National Congress).

The SANDF is composed of four main branches:

The SANDF's primary mandate is to protect South Africa's sovereignty, territorial integrity, and national interests. It also participates in peacekeeping missions and humanitarian operations both within South Africa and internationally. The SANDF has been involved in various peacekeeping efforts under the auspices of the United Nations and the African Union.

The SANDF is led by a Chief of the South African National Defence Force (CSANDF), who reports to the Minister of Defence and Military Veterans. The organization is guided by civilian control and operates within the framework of the South African Constitution.